Skip to main content

Honoring William M. Kizer

The William M. Kizer Light of Wellness Awards honor WELLCOM founder, William M. Kizer, 1925-2017. Mr. Kizer pioneered the worksite wellness movement. He is Chairman Emeritus of Central States Indemnity and founded the Wellness Council of the Mildlands, now WELLCOM, in 1982. Over 35 years later, the mission continues reaching thousands of employees across the Midwest. The Light of Wellness Awards were named in his honor in 2001.

Award Categories

Health Inspiration 

Celebrates employees who have been steadfast supporters and active participants in their company’s wellness program. They inspire and serve as role models for others.

Health Transformation

Recognizes employees who now lead healthier lifestyles and have made a significant health transformation as a result of participating in their company’s wellness program.


Recognizing business and community leaders for providing encouragement, time, and resources to create a healthy workplace for all employees. Recipients are role models for strategically moving the wellness program to a top business priority.  This award is specifically designated for senior level executives.

2018 Award Videos

Located below are the 2017 Light of Wellness Awards videos.  You can access each award video by clicking on the award category below.  

2018 Award Pictures

Please click here to view the pictures from the 2018 Light of Wellness Awards Dinner. Please note, the site may request that you enter your name and email address; upon entering that information, you will have access to view and/or purchase the photos.

2018 Light of Wellness Honorees

Health Leadership

Ken Beckman – Central States Indemnity

Kathy Bressler – CHI Health

Jeremy Guenthner – RTG Medical

Health Inspiration

Susan Albright – Physicians Mutual

Samantha Barnhart – Nebraska Methodist College

Veronica Barrientos – RTG Medical

Tyler Ely – Fusion Medical Staffing

Ron Hertzberg – C&A Industries

Jenny Pelzek – WoodmenLife

Chris Reed – First National Bank

Kaylie Schneider – Dial Retirement Communities

Megan Skuya – Streck

Kit Zimmerman – Mutual of Omaha

Health Transformation

Mary Conant – Woodmen Life

Gina Davis – C&A Industries

Emily Gamm – Fusion Medical Staffing

Jim Gubbels – Omaha Public Power District

Steve Kerrigan – Omaha Public Power District

Mary Manero-Deaver – Union Pacific

Jordain Smith – RTG Medical